Custom Search

REGISTER YOUR BOSS 302 @ the Ford Authorized Boss 302 Registry Here!

Welcome to the Boss 302 Forum Club

Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to the Boss 302 Forum Club. You must register to create topics or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Member benefits:
  • Join your Boss 302 region
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members
  • Create a photo album and post photos and more. . .
Click here to register now

Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

2012 Boss 302 Engine Failure

38 replies to this topic

#1 daleclaytor

daleclaytor

Dale

• Southeast Region
  • 16 posts
  • Region:U.S., South Atlantic
  • Current Vehicle:Boss 302
  • Boss 302's Year:2012

Posted 21 August 2016 - 08:54 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and new to the Boss 302 Mustang.  I just purchased a Race Red 2012 Boss 302 with 3,280 miles on it this past weekend.  It's been garage kept and according to the previous owner never driven in the rain.  The car is like brand new, mint condition.  I've driven it about 60 miles since purchase.  I took it out on a back road Saturday morning using the track key and did two controlled launches, one with traction control and one without and then ran through the gears for about a mile.  I came to a stop at a cross road, made a turn, and noticed a ticking noise coming from the engine that quickly turned into a knock.  It sounds like it's coming from the passenger side top of the engine, but not sure.  It kind of sounds like a spun bearing somewhere.  No prior warning or check engine lights and oil level was ok.  It is still under warranty until October 2016 so I had it towed to a local Ford dealer for diagnostic, but since it was Saturday afternoon, the service manager says they wouldn't b